Fried Chicken for Father’s Day

imageMy hubby loves, no really LOVES, fried chicken.  I know that if I  want to make him happy, all I need to do is make his favorite recipe of fried chicken along with an apple pie and I will be rated the #1 wife of all time:)

I found this recipe for double dipped fried chicken in an old cookbook early in our marriage.  I have made it for Father’s Day, birthdays, and large group gatherings for thirty years now.  I am sure it will be a family favorite for at least thirty more.  I thought this would be a good entry for today’s  Memorable Monday post because of the fond memories of my family eating and enjoying this wonderful chicken  together

I know your family will love this recipe too. The chicken is never underdone or burned  because of the method of frying and then baking.   It is a unique way of  frying chicken that makes it a no fail recipe.

Double Dipped Fried Chicken:

Ingredients:

  • 8-10 chicken pieces
  • 2 cups flour
  • 4tsp garlic salt
  • 2tsp paprika or Cajun seasoning
  • 1tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp season salt
  • shortening or oil for frying

Pre-heat oven to 325*.  Wash chicken pieces and lay on a paper towel to drain.  In a brown bag or heavy duty plastic bag combine flour, garlic salt, paprika, and pepper.  In a shallow dish combine milk, eggs, and season salt.  Dip chicken pieces in flour mixture, then egg mixture, then again in flour mixture. Coat all chicken pieces. In a skillet or wok or deep frier, heat oil to 375*.  Cook chicken in oil until light, golden brown, about 5-8 min.  Put chicken in a baking pan.  They can overlap if necessary.  Bake uncovered for 1 hr or until thickest pieces are done.  Makes 4-6 servings

–Tracy:)

Here is a recipe card that I made several years ago.   I have changed it just a bit, but it still works great:)image

One thought on “Fried Chicken for Father’s Day

Leave a comment